1 Comment

Find Your Own Temple Trail in Kyoto

Admittedly, when thinking of Japan, temples and shrines were never the first thing that came to mind. I had a Japanese man once tell me that Japanese people never really go to temples and shrines, and those sort of things are mainly a tourist trap. Having lived there before, the word “Japan” invoked thoughts that were inhibited by my own personal experience: Japan, to me, was about fresh, dry powder, skiing snowboarding with friends, nights out in Susukino, nabe parties and fresh sashimi, distinct seasons and riding my bike everywhere. But this is what made it “Japan” for me, and yes, I was proud of it, because that’s what travelling is all about, right? About finding your own way, and having your own experiences, ones that are yours and nobody elses’, in a place.

Anyway, this pretty much summed up my Japan, up until I returned late last year with a group of friends. So, not really having any real interest in temples and shrines, and pre-conceived notions of such places being “tourist traps”, I was pleasantly surprised at how beautiful and serene these places were, and surprised at how much I enjoyed it. Maybe I’ve grown up a little, or maybe it was being in places that were different to other places I’d seen in Japan, but I felt a sort of spiritual awakening going to these places.

Places we went to included the Fushimi Inari Shrine, Kofukuji Temple, Todaiji Temple and Kiyomizudera (my favourite! Visit this place at night). But the best part of exploring these places, is the journey it took to get there. We got lost several times, and along the way, we found a whole bunch of other temples and shrines. Ones that weren’t flooded by tourists and school kids, ones down small side streets and tucked away in suburbia, where only the locals go. If we hadn’t gotten lost, we wouldn’t have found those places.

There are so many beautiful temples and shrines in Kyoto. But if you are travelling to Kyoto, don’t just go to the main tourist attractions; explore the place and make it your own experience. Get lost, and maybe find yourself again. That goes for anywhere you travel.

Author’s note: not all photos were taken by me. Some were taken by a good friend of mine. Credits for those photos go to him.

One comment on “Find Your Own Temple Trail in Kyoto

  1. […] Find Your Own Temple Trail in Kyoto (kitsunelovesjapan.wordpress.com) […]

Comments are closed.